Les Baugh County Member Larry Farr City Member Stan Neutze City Member Michael Dacquisto City Member Alternate

Irwin Fust Special District Member

Mary Rickert County Member Alternate

Brenda Haynes Special District Member



Larry Russell Public Member

Joe Chimenti County Member

Patricia A. Clarke Special District Alternate Katharine Ann Campbell Public Member Alternate George Williamson Executive Officer James M. Underwood General Counsel

Kathy Bull

Manager

**Date:** June 10, 2020

From: George Williamson, Executive Officer & Kathy Bull, Office Manager

Subject: NOTICE OF RE-NOMINATION PERIOD AND NOTICE OF INTENTION TO

**CONDUCT MAILED BALLOT ELECTION** 

Due to recent extenuating circumstances, it is hereby noticed that the Shasta Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) is seeking nominations for **two** special district members and **one** alternate member to serve on LAFCO. The two regular and one alternate member elected will serve the remaining four-year term ending in January 2024. The current special district members are provided below.

Designation	Current Special District Members on LAFCO	Term Ended
Member (Seat 1)	Irwin Fust, Clear Creek Community Service District	2020
Member (Seat 2)	Brenda Haynes, Anderson Cottonwood Irrigation District	2020
Alternate Member	Patricia A. Clarke, Anderson Fire Protection District	2020

The process for selecting special district members for LAFCO seats is set forth in Government Code Section 56332. This provides for a meeting to be convened among representatives of the 35 independent special districts in Shasta County, unless the Executive Officer determines that a meeting is not feasible. Based on Government Code Section 56332, it has been determined that an "Independent Special District Selection Committee" meeting to select special district members is not feasible at this time due to the likelihood that a quorum would not be achieved. As such, both the nominating process and election are being conducted on behalf of the Independent Special District Selection Committee by the LAFCO Executive Officer.

Your district is encouraged to participate in this election process. A schedule is enclosed together with a list of the 35 independent districts in Shasta County that area eligible to participate. If your district wishes to nominate a Board member(s) to be a candidate(s) for the LAFCO special district alternate member seat, the following rules for eligibility and for submitting nominations apply:

- 1. As there are three seats open, your Board may nominate up to three candidates. Please Note, there is now only a single nomination form. If your District has already submitted nomination(s) in 2020, they may be resubmitted using the attached form. Based on comments from special district representatives, all qualified nominees will be placed on a single ballot. The candidate receiving the most votes will serve as the seat 1 regular member. The candidate receiving the second most votes will serve as the seat 2 regular member. The candidate receiving the third most votes will serve as the alternate member. In the case of ties, a coin toss will decide which candidate is elected.
- 2. Nominees must be elected or appointed special district officers (members of a governing board) of an independent special district in Shasta County.
- 3. Selection of a nominee is to be approved by a majority of your governing board. The name of the nominee is to be submitted on the attached Nomination Form, and is to be signed by either the President/Chair or the Clerk of your governing board.

Page 2 of 2

- 4. The nominee is encouraged to provide information requested on the Candidate Information Sheet. This information will be summarized on the final ballot but will be kept on file at the LAFCO office.
- 5. All qualified nominees will be listed on the final ballot.
- The Nomination Form(s) must be returned no later than <u>August 3, 2020</u>. You may email the nomination forms to George Williamson, Shasta LAFCo Executive Officer at exec@shasta.lafco.ca.gov. If returning nominations by mail, please send to: Shasta LAFCO General Counsel, C/o Underwood Law Offices 1274 Court Street, Redding, CA 96001.

## **Election Schedule**

Action	Date of Action		
LAFCO request for nominations mailed to independent special districts via certified mail	Sent June 10,2020		
Nominations due to LAFCO	By 5:00 p.m. August 3, 2020		
Ballots sent via certified mail to independent special districts	August 5, 2020		
Ballots due to LAFCO	By 5:00 p.m. October 1, 2020		
Ballots opened and tallied at LAFCO office; all candidates notified	October 1, 2020		
Election results sent via certified mail to all districts	No later than October 5, 2020		

## **Independent Special Districts**

Anderson Cemetery District Anderson Fire Protection District Anderson-Cottonwood Irrigation District Bella Vista Water District

Buckeye Fire Protection District

Burney Basin Mosquito Abatement District

Burney Cemetery District
Burney Fire Protection District

**Burney Water District** 

Castella Fire Protection District

Centerville Community Services District Clear Creek Community Services District

Cottonwood Cemetery District Cottonwood Fire Protection District

Cottonwood Water District

Fall River Valley Community Services District

Fall River Mills Fire Protection District

Fall River Resource Conservation District

Halcumb Cemetery District

Happy Valley Fire Protection District Igo-Ono Community Services District

Manton Joint Cemetery District Mayers Memorial Hospital District McArthur Fire Protection District Millville Fire Protection District

Millville Masonic & Odd Fellows Cemetery District

Mountain Gate Community Services District Pine Grove/ Fall River Mills Cemetery District Pine Grove Mosquito Abatement District

Shasta Community Services District Shasta Lake Fire Protection District

Shasta Mosquito and Vector Control District

**Tucker Oaks Water District** 

Western Shasta Resource Conservation District

## Other Information

Information available at <a href="www.shasta.lafco.ca.gov">www.shasta.lafco.ca.gov</a>. Should you have any questions, please contact the Commission office, by phone at (530) 242-1112, or by e-mail at <a href="exec@shasta.lafco.ca.gov">exec@shasta.lafco.ca.gov</a>.

Attachments: Nomination Form (1)

## Special District Independent Member NOMINATION FORM

District Name:					
Address:					
Telephone:					
The Board hereby nomina	tes				to fill a
four-year term ending in	January 2	2024 as a reg	gular member o	of the Shasta	Local Agency
Formation Commission re	presenting	independent s	pecial districts in	n Shasta Cour	ıty.
Board action taken on the		day of	,	, 2020 by the fo	ollowing vote:
Ayes:					
Noes:					
Abstain:					
Absent:					
Signature of Board Preside	ent/Clerk				
Printed Name					
This Nomination Form	must be re	eceived by Sh	asta LAFCO no	o later than Au	ugust 3, 2020

Shasta LAFCO Date Stamp